General information

Full name                               
Integrated Structural Biology Infrastructure                      
Short name                          
Instruct
Legal statusLtd.; Instruct-ERIC step 2 application submitted
Operational statusfully operational
 
Coordinating institutionUniversity of Oxford
INSTRUCT Director
David Stuart
  
RI member countries
BE, CZ, DK, ES, FR, IL, IT, NL, PT, SE, UK
Observer-
 
Website www.structuralbiology.eu
Contact

Claudia Alen Amaro

Claudia [at] strubi.ox.ac.uk

National nodes

This sections provides an overview on the national subsidiaries of the RI.

 

NameContact, website

Instruct-BE

   Nanobodies4Instruct

Contact: Jan Steyaert, jan.steyaert [at] vub.ac.be

Website

  

Instruct-DE2

   (Goethe University; Frankfurt)

Contact: Juergen Koepke, juergen.koepke [at] biophys.mpg.de

Website
  

Instruct-ES

   (I2PC, CSIC Madrid)

Contact: Jose-Maria Carazo, carazo [at] cnb.csic.es

Website
  

Instruct-FI

   (University of Helsinki)

Contact: Dennis Bamford, dennis.bamford [at] helsinki.fi

Website
  
Instruct-FR1

Contact: Alberto Podjarny, podjarny [at] igbmc.fr

Website
  
Instruct-FR2

Contact: Darren Hart, darren.hart [at] ibs.fr

Website
  
Instruct-IL

Contact: Joel Sussman, Joel.Sussman [at] weizmann.ac.il

Website
  
Instruct-IT

Contact: Lucia Banci, banci [at] cerm.unifi.it

Website
  

Instruct-NL

   (Utrecht University, NKI, NeCEN)

Contact: Reinout Raijmakers, R.Raijmakers [at] uu.nl

Website
  
Instruct-UK

Contact: Yvonne Jones, yvonne [at] strubi.ox.ac.uk

Website
  
Centre for Solid State NMR

Contact: Hartmut Oschkinat,  oschkinat [at] fmp-berlin.de

Website
  
Centre for Protein Production

Contact: Joop van den Heuvel,

   Joop.vandenHeuvel [at] helmholtz-hzi.de

Website
  
Centre for Bioinformatics

Contact: Haim Wolfson, wolfson [at] tau.ac.il

Website
  
Centre for Computational Biology

Contact: Martyn Winn, martyn.winn [at] stfc.ac.uk

Website
  
Centre for Mass Spectrometry

Contact: Carol Robinson, carol.robinson [at] chem.ox.ac.uk

Website

 

 

Description of the organisation

Instruct is a pan-European research infrastructure in structural biology, making high-end technologies and methods available to users from Instruct member countries. Users are given access to highly specialised instruments, with on-site expertise to help them gain the best results for their projects.

Structural biology is one of the key frameworks on which we interpret molecular and cellular functions. The main experimental technologies are complementary, and increasingly link detailed atomic structure with cellular context.
Structural biology is currently in the middle of a revolution enabled by significant advances in the tools and technologies available (direct electron detectors in EM, advances in synchrotron sources and detectors, XFELs, ultra-high field NMR, super-resolution cryo-light miscroscopy).

Service offer

A list of services offered by Instruct can be downloaded here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This project receives funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 654248.