General information

Full name                               
Biobanking and BioMolecular resources Research Infrastructure              
Short nameBBMRI-ERIC
Legal statusERIC
Operational statusfully operational
 
Coordinating institutionBBMRI-ERIC
Director General
Jan-Eric Litton
  
RI member countries
AT, BE, CZ, DE, EE, FI, FR, GR, IT, LV, MT, NL, NO, PL, SE, UK
ObserverCH, CY, TR as well as the IARC
 
Websitewww.bbmri-eric.eu
Contactcontact [at] bbmri-eric.eu

National nodes

This sections provides an overview on the national subsidiaries of the RI.

NameWebsite, contact
BBMRI.at Contact: Kurt Zatloukal, kurt.zatloukal [at] medunigraz.at
Website
 
BBMRI.be Contact: Annelies Debucquoy, annelies.debucquoy [at] kankerregister.org
              secretariat.BBMRIbe [at] kankerregister.org
Website
 
BBMRI.cz

Contact: Dalibor Valik, valik [at] mou.cz

Website
 
BBMRI.deContact: Michael Hummel, michael.hummel [at] charite.de
Website
 
BBMRI.ee

Contact: Andres Metspalu, andres.metspalu [at] ut.ee

Website
 
BBMRI.fi

Contact: Anu Jalanko, anu.jalanko [at] thl.fi

Website 

 
BBMRI.fr Contact: Frédérique Bulle, frederique.bulle [at] inserm.fr
Website
 
BBMRI.gr Contact: Dimitris Thanos, thanos [at] bioacademy.gr
Website
 
BBMRI.it Contact: Marialuisa Lavitrano, marialuisa.lavitrano [at] unimib.it
Website
  
BBMRI.lvContact: Janis Klovins, klovins [at] biomed.lu.lv
Website
  
BBMRI.mt Contact: Alex Felice, alex.felice [at] um.edu.mt
Website
 
BBMRI.nl  Contact: Gert-Jan van Ommen g.j.b.van_ommen [at] lumc.nl
Website
 
BBMRI.no Contact: Kristian Hveem, kristian.hveem [at] ntnu.no
Website
  
BBMRI.plContact: Lukasz Kozera, lukasz.kozera [at] eitplus.pl
Website forthcoming
  
BBMRI.se Contact: Gunnel Tybring, gunnel.tybring [at] ki.se
Website
 
BBMRI.uk Contact: Philip Quinlan, bbmri [at] biobankinguk.org
Website
 
BBMRI.cy

Contact: Constantinos Deltas, deltas [at] ucy.ac.cy
               Kyriacos Kyriacou, kyriacos [at] cing.ac.cy
Website of Biobank, Website of Medicine Research Center

 
BBMRI.ch Contact: Christine Currat, christine.currat [at] swissbiobanking.ch
Website
 
BBMRI.tr  Contact: Nese Atabey, nese.atabey [at] deu.edu.tr
Website
 
WHO/IARC  Contact: Maimuna Mendy, mendym [at] iarc.fr
Website

Description of the organisation

BBMRI-ERIC aims to improve the accessibility and interoperability of the existing comprehensive collections, either population-based or clinical-oriented, of biological samples from different (sub-) populations of Europe or rare diseases. These collections include the attached data on factors such as health status, nutrition, lifestyle, and environmental exposure of the study subjects. In order to fully realize the enormous potential of European biobanks and biomolecular resources for the benefit of European citizens, clinical, ethical and legal experts, the biotech and pharmaceutical industry, patient advocacy groups are collaborating in a participatory governance model (Stakeholder's Forum). The aim is to achieve standards and guidelines that properly balance individual values, such as protection of privacy and informed consent, with shared values of facilitated access to progress in health care and disease prevention.

BBMRI-ERIC will increase efficacy and excellence of European bio-medical research by facilitating fair access to quality-defined human health/disease-relevant biological resources through the inclusion of associated data in an efficient and ethically and legally compliant manner; by reducing the fragmentation of the bio-medical research landscape through harmonisation of procedures, implementation of common standards and fostering high-level collaboration; and by capacity-building in countries with less developed biobanking communities thereby contributing to Europe's cohesion policy and strengthening the ERA.

The EU’s ageing population is resulting in an increase in many of those diseases and consequently an increased healthcare expenditure for senior citizens that place pressure on the sustainability and viability of the EU’s healthcare systems. Through BBMRI-ERIC, biobanks and biomolecular resources shall develop into one of the most important tools for biomedical and clinical discovery. New medical applications, new therapies, new preventive techniques, new diagnostics, personalised or stratified medicine, and new biomedical industries shall evolve to improve socio-economic competitiveness and increase possibilities for equitable healthcare in Europe. The anticipated development shall pave the way for a new research culture in Europe. Expectantly, BBMRI-ERIC will have an impact on partnerships with patients/donors, who know that their own tissues, samples and personal data can yield discoveries and advances in medicine, diagnostics, and therapies. In return, BBMRI-ERIC is taking up the responsibility to make sure that the samples and data that have been entrusted for research are used in the best way possible for the advancement of knowledge, ultimately contributing to improved health care.
The key benefits for users of BBMRI-ERIC are fair access to quality-controlled samples and/or data from population-based, disease-oriented or rare disease biobanks including expertise in handling these biological resources for scientific purposes (ethical, legal and societal issues as well as quality handling). BBMRI-ERIC connects a distributed research infrastructure of biobanks and biomolecular resources for the benefit of the users of such resources. It puts pan-European biobanks on the map and promotes their specific strengths. BBMRI increases the accessibility to quality controlled human biological samples and associated biomedical and biomolecular data in making them findable, accessible, interoperable and reusable. Ultimately, this is key for advancing stratified and precision medicine.

Service offer

A list of services offered by BBMRI can be downloaded here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This project receives funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 654248.